top of page
Writer's pictureo paigehatalyn

Why I Love Drill Rap

Updated: May 3

C Blu & Set Da Trend "No Ozone Pt. 2" (2021)


Not because you asked, but because I wanted to tell you.


I was introduced to drill from Chicago, long before I loved Bronx drill. I was a huge fan of Lil' Reese and Durk. My favorite Lil' Reese track was Traffic or his whole Supa Savage mixtape. And of course I loved Chief Keef. I feel like Tay-K was drill, and he has one of my favorite mixtapes ever. Comethazine's music also reminds me of drill and I enjoy his music too. Not a big fan of Brooklyn drill, but I enjoy Sheff G and Pop Smoke. So I've enjoyed rap like this since 2017, 2018 because when Reese and Chief Keef were dropping, I was still in my young, pop era and I didn't get into rap like that until years later, I really loved Drake in my pop era.


I've been through every hip-hop stage you can think of, I've loved 1980's rap, 90's and 2000's and of course 2010's. So I just love rap/hip-hop, that's all it is. And I appreciate every subgenre for the most part. Just yesterday I was listening to Ice-T, and he was fire. I have so many favorite rap albums/mixtapes. I feel like Ice-T's album covers have a nice aura, just a thought. This is such a nice cover.


Ice-T "Rhyme Pays" (1987)


I really love authenticity, and representing culture no matter what is thought. Ice-T was super provocative but he did change the game, and his music is good. No one believed in this music, they said hip-hip would go nowhere. So I think I also love that it's still around and became more profitable than pop at one point.


The first two gangsta rappers, Schoolly D and Ice-T are what they say "ruined rap" but that's subjective. They were talented, they could rap. And to be real, before Rakim, the MC's were giving up very basic rhymes. I really appreciate the evolution of rap.



Usually when people find out about the drill rap music I like they're shocked. And I totally understand when someone says they hate it .. but I just can't.


My first introduction to Bronx drill was Kay Flock, because he is responsible to almost making it mainstream, and putting it on the map. Dthang and EK are for sure the pioneers too. I do think the sampling did go too far at some points, but I kind of thought that was the beauty of Bronx drill.


Some of my tracks from 2021-2022 drill rap are:



  • Dthang x Bando x T dot - Talk Facts

  • C Blu & Set Da Trend - No Ozone

  • Sha Ek x PJ Glizzy - Get Back

  • Edot Baby - WE BACK PT.2 Ft. Dee Play4Keeps

  • B-Lovee - IYKYK & My Everything feat. G-Herbo

  • Kay Flock - Is Ya Ready & PSA and What Ya'll Wanna Do feat. C Blu and sadly this peak of drill is gone, Kay Flock and Sugarhill Keem are in jail


Here recently, drill beats have changed tremendously and the Sweepers and Sdot are the reason for that. They made the jersey beat style drill popular. Honestly they inspired everybody to rap on those. Out of all of the Sweepers, my favorite are Jay5ive and Kenny Capone, they're the real rappers. They are 10/10 with flow, wordplay and beat selection. Some more of my new favorites are Sha Gz, Yus Gz, most of the Sweeprs, Shani Boni, Kyle Richh. Nay Benz, Dudey Lo, Bloodie and a few more.


Now, let's talk a little bit about the bad first. There are often consequences for rap like this, lives are lost or rappers are put in jail. And it's not the best influence. But there's many sides for these rappers. We've seen how we treat rappers when they don't live what they rap about, or "snitch," so it's almost like these guys have to do these things, or they just aren't good people, and they succumb the mentality they were truly raised in. These guys are always no older 19 when they start rapping.


I admire someone like C Blu, who creates a another good, popular stream of income and elevates his life for the better, and I see other rappers are following that. 41 is learning to make hits without mentioning opps, "Crank That Remix."


There's no way to ignore these negative side affects, but I still admire the talent. And sometimes I do have to take a break from that type of music.


But, they’re my favorite gym/workout tracks.


These guys are writing really young too and I admire that, plus I’ve always been a fan of New York rap. My prediction is that drill won’t die, but it’ll always consistently change.





18 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page