top of page
Writer's pictureo paigehatalyn

The Diary of Alicia Keys: personal album review

Updated: May 29

Watch my video on Alicia Keys' 3 album run here:


Originally published: November 13th, 2023


After listening to this album a few times (one million times actually) I’ve decided to do a somewhat formal review.


Keys’ sophomore album is like stepping into a world of Harlem, Jazz and Hip and soft sensual melodies. It is better than her debut “Songs in A Minor” and arguably, her best album. (actually, it just is)


The first track into TDOAK, is “Harlem’s Nocturne” she’s leading us into her diary, and allowing us to take this journey with her. Not similar to “Piano & I” it is unique on it’s own, as she shows of her piano skills in the first 30 seconds, and then we’re led into a beat and a introduction from Miss Keys, which leads us into the first lead track.


“Karma” a hip hop beat, who we learned was originally for a rapper. One of the best bridges I’ve heard thus far is in this song, and again, Keys shows us what production value means. Although this single didn’t chart as high as the others, it is just as good. Karma leads us into an AK & Timbaland collaboration.



“Heartburn” is probably my least favorite song on the album, but not because it’s bad, but because it just doesn’t compare to the other songs on the album. Heartburn sounds like a scrapped Etta James song, I’m not sure why but I hear her on the track. It’s good, and it’s powerful, and her performance of it is one of my favorites. And Heartburn leads us to one of my favorites on the album.


“If I Was Your Woman/Walk on By” With a Gladys Knight, Issac Hayes mixture, we’re able to see Keys’ ability to turn a soulful song and soulful production into a hip hop remix. With Mo Bee, they provide the New York street sound, something only she’s best at.


This song needs no introduction, with Kanye West and AK production, and Harold Lily and John Legend background vocals. The soulful sweetness of this melody, with production value like no other, “You Don’t Know My Name” sounds like the first time, every time. One of her most popular songs, contains a sample from the song “Let Me Prove My Love to You”, by J. R. Bailey, Mel Kent and Ken Williams, from 1975. This is one of my favorite songs ever created.


Another song that needs no introduction, and you know it. “If I Ain’t Got You” is one of the most beautiful songs I’ve heard, written and produced by AK, the soft melody needs no explanation as to why this is a favorite for the general public. Although this isn’t my favorite on the album, it has such a beautiful meaning, and provides more wholesome vibes throughout her “diary.”


Next, another R&B favorite, “Diary” which features Jermaine Paul & Tony! Toni! Tone! The brilliant collaboration, a soulful duo and enters us into the slow tunes of TDOAK. Growing up, I thought this song was called “Secrets” and it’s so catchy and so beautiful.


Dragon Days isn’t a popular one, but it’s a good one. It’s one of my personal favorites from her lyrically. I feel like this one is overlooked because it wasn’t a single, but I also don’t think it was single worthy. It’s still one of my favorites, written and produced by Alicia Keys of course.


Wake Up is one of my FAVORITE soulful tracks from this album. The song sounds a little dated but I’m sure that’s what she was going for. Produced by Alicia Keys, and written by her, Kerry Brother and Harlem Musician Ray Chew .. I wish there would’ve been a music video to this.


Sidenote: I wish there would’ve been a music video to every song, I wish this could’ve been a visual album.


“So Simple” feat Lellow, Alicia’s alter ego. This song is so beautiful, the layers, the meaning. Written by Alicia, Andre Harris, Harold Lily and Vidal Davis and produced by AK, Andre Harris and Vidal Davis. I really fell in love with this song my senior year of high school because I was going through a breakup.


When You Really Love Someone is A Woman’s Worth part two. I didn’t really recognize how good this song is (because every song is good it’s hard to focus in on all of them)

I really appreciate this song now and although it’s kind of dated, the style of the song sounds like it could’ve been recorded 20 years before but I’m sure that’s the purpose. Written by Alicia Keys and Kerry Brothers Jr, and produced by Alicia Keys.


Let’s get into the best interlude ever created, the most soft and sultry interlude and it’s so perfect for the album. It’s such a vibe and Alicia Keys’ mind is CRAZY. Written and produced by Alicia Keys.


Slow down is one of my favorites and it’s so sexy and I think that it flows perfectly from Feeling U, Feeling Me. I think it’s such a sweet song and the chorus is my favorite part, she layered this song so well.


Side Note: If I Was Your Woman goes PERFECTLY into You Don’t Know My Name. Just go listen please.


Samsonite Man feels like one of the most unknown song on this album but I do enjoy this track. For a long time I was so confused on what this song was even about, but I really like the song.


The outro, "Nobody Not Really" is a really interesting outro, she ends the album with asking if anyone really cares and discussing her real personal feelings. It felt deeper than any other part of the album. I do feel this song would’ve probably been better in the middle of the album instead of ending it with “nobody cares.”


Overall, this album has shaped me. I will always love Alicia Keys for creating an album that was there for me in my teenage years even almost 15 years after it's release, a true classic.


Happy 20 years to my favorite album, to one of the best albums of the 2000’s and the greatest R&B album ever.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page