top of page
Writer's pictureo paigehatalyn

My Predictions for Ice Spice’s debut

The Bronx superstar officially has a release date set for July 26th. This gives her plenty of time for a rollout, we almost know a little too early.



In August 2024, Ice Spice will have been in the mainstream music scene for two years. Initially, I had low expectations, but she exceeded them.


I believe her new album rollout will be successful if she remains consistent in keeping the audience engaged. Unlike Normani, she should avoid announcing an album release date and then disappearing for weeks, attention spans are already short.


I think the general public will love the album, but I'm concerned about its sales. I'm predicting first-week sales between 60,000 and 80,000 copies, though a well-executed rollout could exceed this.


The two singles released so far, "Gimmie A Light" and "Think U The Shit," weren't well received and quickly faded. Ice Spice should consider including the "Fisherrr" remix if possible.


As a Bronx drill fan, it was thrilling to see her rise as one of the few mainstream drill rappers, even though the momentum slowed. I'm very curious to hear this album and hope to see features from artists like Sexxy Redd, who has a similar style (very fun rap), any other Bronx drill rappers like D Thang or Jay Hound, since they try (slightly) to avoid controversial lyrics.


Now that her "alliance" with Nicki Minaj has ended, Ice Spice needs to focus on marketing her music to the general public and her fanbase. When she was closely associated with Nicki, she relied heavily on the Barbz for support.


Overall, I wish Ice Spice the best with her album. I'll be listening and reviewing it on my Instagram.



2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page