top of page
Writer's pictureo paigehatalyn

“eternal sunshine” is Ariana Grande’s best work.

I’ve loved Ariana Grande since “Honeymoon Avenue.” and she’s consistently dropped music that I’ve loved.


Until ES, Sweetener was her best album and my personal favorite was Dangerous Woman. Now with Eternal Sunshine out, we can acknowledge her true, best work.


Production, vocal layering, vulnerability & amazing writing. We get great vocal layering and production on all of her albums. And TUN was super vulnerable, but ES feels much different. “yes and ?” wasn’t my favorite track and it feels like she pulled a Beyoncé … with the single not being anywhere as good as the rest of the album and kind of throwing you off a bit. Imagine if “the boy is mine” was a single. Right.


After a bunch of listens, I really do think that this is her strongest album and I am enjoying more and more by the day.


Before I keep going, here are my favorite tracks:

  • bye

  • true story

  • the boy is mine

  • eternal sunshine

  • we can’t be friends


And maybe because this album hit a little close to home with those songs, I feel super connected to this album. No, I wasn’t married and got divorced but the songs really do hit home. I think that’s why I’ll always love her music. Ever since 2018 I felt like her songs were connecting really strongly.


There’s only 2 other artists I feel that way about.


This is definitely a mix of genres, Pop & R&B, House and Dance sounds are all through this album. It’s not her longest work, but it’s amazing.


"the boy is mine" has a early 2000’s R&B vibe, bye has a real pop feel .. I feel like I’d hear it in a movie/soundtrack or on one of her early albums. true story also feels like an early R&B track.


Ariana Grande had me a little worried with “yes and ?” because i wasn’t a huge fan … but she really did release an amazing album.


Vocals 10/10

Production 10/10

Lyrics 10/10

Visuals: 10/10

WHOLE ALBUM: 10/10

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page